Nicely handled, SGov

It’s no secret that I love my MBA program at Stern. Last week, the student government (SGov*) gave me one more reason – and its handling of the situation illustrates some CX principles relevant to this blog.

The scenario: There had been heated debate about the student body adopting a grade non-disclosure (GND) policy leading up to a vote. The ballot was issued in survey format and covered GND in addition to several other topics, including best professor and whether the class trip to Atlantic City should be one night or two.

I was eager to vote because (1) I’m a good citizen and (2) I felt strongly about not GND passing. I was frustrated to discover that the survey had been designed so that all of the questions were mandatory. I couldn’t selectively abstain from the issues I didn’t know (never had any of the professors listed) or care (Atlantic City isn’t my scene) about and still make my voice heard on the ones I did.

What did I do? I complained on Facebook. (Perhaps not the best example of my good citizenship!) The president of SGov replied that allowing selective abstention was a good principle for future surveys. I felt heard, but not happy. I’d been forced to taint the vote on the aforementioned don’t-know/don’t-care issues.

A few days later, to my delight, an e-mail arrived from SGov entitled “Freedom to Abstain from Voting”. It provided a new survey link with abstention offered as an option for each issue. Even better, while I could re-vote and void my old submission, all original submissions by students who didn’t re-vote would be be valid. This was a beautiful move on SGov’s part. Starting a new vote from scratch and forcing everyone to re-vote would have botched the CX big time – and probably lowered turnout by quite a bit.

Nicely handled, SGov. You made me a very happy citizen!

*SGov recently changed its name from SCorp (Stern Student Corporation) to better reflect what it is: Stern Student Government. While we b-school students love corporations and all, it was a smart re-branding for clarity (1) within the school and (2) with recruiters and others not familiar with the inner workings of Stern.

This entry was posted in Feedback, Surveys, Usability, VOC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

