CX win: SuperShuttle

I don’t blog as often about CX gone right as gone wrong – it might be that most companies don’t have their act together when it comes to CX, or it might just be that, as customers, we expect a great experience. If our expectations are met, what’s there to write home (here) about?

I have to say, though, that I was very impressed by my experience with SuperShuttle, an airport shuttle service. They have a simple, intuitive website with clear pricing information and easy reservation system – along with a discount for booking online. (Way to incentivize customers to avoid CSR time, guys!)

They also have an automated message system that (1) called me the day before to remind me of the pickup time (an unholy hour of the morning), (2) called me five minutes before pickup to let me know the van was on its way and to remind me that being ready on time is a sign of courtesy to other passengers, and (3) called me when the van had arrived. There was no back and forth with the driver and the automation was very slick.

When I returned from the trip, I walked over to the SuperShuttle counter at the airport, where the agent swiftly located my reservation and printed out a receipt with my ‘number’. Shortly thereafter (I got through less than one chapter of my book), my number was called and I, along with three other passengers, were loaded into the van and on our way.

Well done!

Since it’s my self-appointed job to identify ways to improve the CX, here are a few for you, SuperShuttle. First, the only part of your website that tripped me up was the question about my return flight information. It asked for the time without specifying if it was the departure or arrival time. I went with arrival, since that’s when I’d be needing your service, but marking the field “arrival time” would’ve saved me several seconds of waffling. Second, I learned from Driver #2 that all vans are independently owned and operated. For the record, his was far less comfortable than that of Driver #1. Maybe a SuperShuttle employee should ride along every once in a while for quality control. I know it was a $13 midnight ride from the airport, but my butt has CX expectations, too.

This entry was posted in Pricing, Product design, Usability. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CX win: SuperShuttle

  1. Shauna says:

    Thank you so much for the feedback! I forwarded your CX comments to our IT staff and they adjusted the form to emphasize the “ARRIVES” versus “DEPARTS.”

    If you ever have any other feedback, we welcome it. Just drop me a line and I will forward it. Thanks for riding with us 🙂

Leave a Reply

